CBSE Junior Assistant Eligibility 2026: Age, Class 12 and Typing Speed
CBSE Junior Assistant eligibility is simple on paper but strict in practice. The post is open to Indian citizens who have passed Class 12, can type at the prescribed speed and fall within the age limit on the Board's reference date. Many applications fail not because the candidate is unqualified but because a date, a certificate or a name does not match the rules.
This page explains every eligibility condition for the Junior Assistant post (post code 09/25) in the latest cycle, the Direct Recruitment Quota Examination 2026 (DRQ2026). The rules come from the Central Board of Secondary Education's Detailed Advertisement dated 2 December 2025: https://www.cbse.gov.in/cbsenew/documents/Detailed_Advertisement_Direct_Recruitment_02122025.pdf Conditions can change in a new notification, so recheck the official page before you apply in a future cycle.
Table of Contents
CBSE Junior Assistant Eligibility
Criterion | Requirement |
|---|---|
Post | Junior Assistant, Group C, Pay Level 2 (post code 09/25) |
Nationality | Indian citizen |
Qualification | Class 12 or equivalent from a recognised Board or University |
Result deadline | Declared on or before 22 December 2025 |
Typing speed | 35 w.p.m. in English or 30 w.p.m. in Hindi on a computer |
Minimum age | 18 years as on 22 December 2025 |
Maximum age | 27 years as on 22 December 2025, with relaxation |
Mode of application | Online, one application per post |
The date 22 December 2025 is the crucial date for age, qualification, category and every other eligibility condition. The Board states that it does not change even if the application deadline is extended.
Nationality
Only Indian citizens can apply. The advertisement does not list any domicile or state-of-residence condition, and the post is an all-India posting. Candidates can be posted in any of the Board's offices, including Regional Offices, Sub-Regional Offices and the Centre of Excellence at Raebareli, and the post carries all-India transfer liability. Your willingness to relocate is therefore part of the job.
Educational Qualification
The essential qualification is a Class 12 or equivalent pass from a recognised Board or University.
Result must be declared by the reference date: your result must have been declared on or before 22 December 2025, and you need proof from the Board or University.
Qualification must be held at application: you must hold the qualification when you submit the online application.
Final-year and result-awaited candidates: the advertisement tells candidates in their final year, or whose results are awaited, not to apply.
No stream or percentage condition: the advertisement text we reviewed does not specify a stream, a minimum percentage or a subject requirement for Class 12.
What counts as equivalent
The advertisement says equivalent qualification from a recognised Board or University. If your qualification is from an open school, a state board or a foreign board, keep the equivalence certificate or the recognition order ready.
Typing Speed Requirement
A typing speed of 35 words per minute in English or 30 words per minute in Hindi on a computer is an essential condition. The advertisement converts this to 10,500 key depressions per hour for English and 9,000 for Hindi, based on an average of 5 key depressions per word.
The speed is tested in a qualifying skill test held after Tier-II. Candidates shortlisted at a ratio of 1:5 are called for it. The test carries no marks, but a candidate who cannot reach the speed is not selected. Start practising early, because typing speed improves slowly.
Age Limit and Reference Date
The age limit for Junior Assistant is 18 to 27 years as on 22 December 2025. Your date of birth must match your Class 10 or matriculation certificate, since the Board treats that certificate as the proof of date of birth.
The advertisement extract we reviewed gives the age as "27 years" and does not print a date-of-birth window. To check yourself, count your age as on 22 December 2025 and read the age clause in the advertisement for how the Board counts the last day. If your date of birth is close to the limit, do not guess.
Age Relaxation by Category
Upper age relaxation is available for the following categories, as set out in the advertisement.
Category | Upper age relaxation | Resulting maximum age |
|---|---|---|
Unreserved and EWS | None listed | 27 years |
SC and ST | 5 years | 32 years |
OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), Central List | 3 years | 30 years |
PwBD (Unreserved), including women | 10 years | 37 years |
PwBD (OBC NCL), including women | 13 years | 40 years |
PwBD (SC and ST), including women | 15 years | 42 years |
Women (as per the advertisement clause) | 10 years | See the clause for conditions |
Ex-servicemen (Group B and C) | Military service is deducted from actual age | Age after deduction must not exceed the limit by more than 3 years |
Board's regular employees | No bar | No age bar |
The resulting maximum ages are simple additions to the base limit of 27 years, shown for quick reference. Relaxation fields do not apply to dependents of ex-servicemen. The row for women carries conditions in the advertisement, so read that clause before you claim it.
How the relaxation works in practice
Suppose a candidate's age on 22 December 2025 is well above 27 but below 30, and the candidate belongs to the OBC (NCL) category. The candidate is within the limit only if the OBC-NCL certificate is valid under the rules below. If the certificate is not in order, the Board treats the candidate under the unreserved category, and the age limit goes back to 27 years. Age relaxation is therefore never automatic; it depends on a certificate that stands up at verification.
Category and Certificate Rules
Category claims are tested at verification, and the rules are exact.
Category | What the advertisement requires |
|---|---|
SC and ST | Certificate in the prescribed format (Proforma II), valid on the closing date |
OBC (NCL) | Certificate in the prescribed format (Proforma I) with a declaration (Proforma I-A). Non-creamy-layer status is assessed as on 22 December 2025 |
EWS | Income and asset certificate (Proforma III) for the financial year 2024-25, valid for 2025-26 |
PwBD | At least 40 percent benchmark disability, with a certificate in Form V, VI or VII under the RPwD Rules, 2017 |
Ex-servicemen | Discharge documents and prescribed forms. Non-graduate ex-servicemen need at least 15 years of service, completed by the closing date or within one year after it |
A candidate selected on merit without using any relaxation is adjusted against unreserved vacancies. If a claim is not supported by the original certificate in the prescribed format, the candidate is considered under the unreserved category. An EWS or OBC-NCL certificate that is more than a year old at verification has to be replaced with a current one.
Who Is Not Eligible
Result not declared by the deadline: final-year students and candidates awaiting results, even if the result comes soon after.
Below 18 or above the age limit: counted on 22 December 2025, after applying only the relaxation you can document.
Typing below the required speed: candidates who cannot meet 35 w.p.m. in English or 30 w.p.m. in Hindi.
Non-citizens: only Indian citizens may apply.
Multiple applications for the same post: these are rejected.
Applications with incomplete fee payment: the application is valid only after the e-receipt is generated.
Candidates using unfair means: penalties include disqualification and a two-year debarment from the Board's examinations.
Mere eligibility does not guarantee a call for the exam. The Board shortlists candidates by ratio at every stage.
Other Conditions to Know
Number of attempts: the advertisement text we reviewed does not state an attempt limit.
Separate application for each post: a candidate who wants both Junior Assistant and Junior Accountant must apply separately for each, even though the posts share the Tier-I test.
Name and parents' names: these must match the Class 10 certificate. Candidates with a name change need supporting legal documents.
Active contact details: your email and mobile number must be active, because admit cards are issued online only.
Medical fitness and probation: appointment is subject to medical fitness, and selected candidates are on probation. Eligibility can be verified at any stage, including after joining.
Fee and documents
Fee concessions depend on category, and the advertisement lists Rs. 800 as the application fee plus Rs. 250 as the processing fee for UR, OBC and EWS candidates. SC, ST, PwBD, ex-servicemen and women pay only the Rs. 250 processing fee. The complete fee table, the document list and the application steps are in the CBSE Junior Assistant recruitment overview.
Documents That Prove Your Eligibility
Shortlisted candidates are asked to produce originals and three self-attested sets of the documents listed in the advertisement. Certificates must be in English or Hindi; otherwise a self-attested translation is required.
Document | What it proves |
|---|---|
Class 10 or matriculation certificate | Date of birth, and the spelling of your name and your parents' names |
Class 12 marksheet and certificate | Educational qualification and the result date |
Category certificate (SC, ST, OBC-NCL or EWS) | Reservation and age relaxation |
Disability certificate and related forms | PwBD status of at least 40 percent benchmark disability |
Discharge documents | Ex-servicemen status and length of service |
No-objection certificate | Permission from the current employer for serving employees |
Name change or divorce documents | Legal proof where the name or marital status claim needs support |
Common Eligibility Mistakes
Counting age on the wrong date: some candidates use the exam date or the date of application instead of 22 December 2025.
Applying before the result: a Class 12 result declared after the reference date does not count, even if you passed.
Using an expired category certificate: an old EWS or OBC-NCL certificate can cost you the relaxation or the reserved seat.
Name spelling differences: a mismatch between the application and the Class 10 certificate can hold up verification.
Ignoring the typing rule: candidates who clear the written stages but have never practised typing risk losing the post at the last step.
Eligibility Checklist Before You Apply
Confirm your Class 12 result is declared and the marksheet and certificate are in your hands.
Check your age as on the reference date, and decide whether you need a relaxation.
Collect category certificates in the prescribed format and check their validity dates.
Test your typing speed in English or Hindi and note the result.
Match your name and date of birth against the Class 10 certificate.
Keep an active email id and mobile number ready for the application and the admit card.
Once your eligibility is clear, plan your preparation around the CBSE Junior Assistant exam pattern and track the CBSE Junior Assistant syllabus. If you want timed practice, you can attempt online tests on Testkart and use the section-wise analysis to see which parts need work. Check the official notice board for any new advertisement: https://www.cbse.gov.in/cbsenew/recruitment.html
Junior Assistant and Superintendent Eligibility Compared
CBSE notified the Superintendent post in the same advertisement, which often confuses candidates. The two posts have different groups, pay levels and age limits, and each needs its own application.
Criterion | Junior Assistant (09/25) | Superintendent (06/25) |
|---|---|---|
Group and pay level | Group C, Level 2 | Group B, Level 6 |
Maximum age | 27 years | 30 years |
Vacancies | 35 | 27 |
Official CBSE website: https://www.cbse.gov.in/
Frequently Asked Questions
Ready to practice? Explore CBSE Junior Assistant mock tests from top educators.
Browse CBSE Junior Assistant Mock Tests