Delhi Judicial Services Eligibility: Degree, Age Limit and Practice Rule
Delhi Judicial Services eligibility is simple on paper: an Indian citizen with a law degree who is a practising advocate or qualified to be admitted as one, and who is within the age limit. The complication in recent years is the Supreme Court's changing position on how much bar practice a Civil Judge candidate needs before applying.
This page separates what the Delhi Judicial Service Rules and the last advertised cycle (2023) say from what the Supreme Court has since directed, so you can judge your own position before the next notice. Every year-specific rule is labelled, and anything that depends on a future notification is marked as such.
Table of Contents
Delhi Judicial Services eligibility
Educational qualification
Nationality and enrolment
Age limit and relaxations
Bar practice requirement and Supreme Court rulings
Other conditions
Who is not eligible
Quick self-check with examples
DJS and DHJS eligibility are different
Fee, documents and provisional eligibility
Official sources
Delhi Judicial Services eligibility
Criterion | Requirement |
|---|---|
Nationality | Citizen of India |
Qualification | Law degree; practising advocate in India, or qualified to be admitted as an advocate under the Advocates Act, 1961 |
Age limit | Not more than 32 years on 1 January of the year applications are invited |
Practice requirement | Not stated in the 2023 notice; Supreme Court directions apply to later notices (see below) |
Attempts | No limit found in the Rules we reviewed |
Application mode | Online, through the Delhi High Court website |
These are the conditions in the Delhi Judicial Service Rules, 1970 and the 2023 advertisement. A new notice may change the details, so read it before you apply.
Educational qualification
The Rules do not name a degree, but the condition is that you are a practising advocate or qualified to be admitted as one under the Advocates Act, 1961. In practice, you need a degree in law, usually an LL.B. from a university recognised by the Bar Council of India. Both three-year and five-year integrated programmes lead to this qualification.
Final-year students: The 2023 notice treated eligibility as provisional and asked for qualification to be verified later. Check the notice for the date by which your law degree result must be available.
Enrolment: If you are not yet enrolled, you must be qualified to be admitted under the Advocates Act. Keep your enrolment documents ready.
Percentage: The 2023 notice did not specify a minimum percentage in law. Do not trust pages that quote one without a source.
Nationality and enrolment
You must be a citizen of India. Practising advocates should hold a valid enrolment with a State Bar Council. Those who are qualified but not enrolled are treated as eligible by the Rules, subject to the practice rules described below.
Age limit and relaxations
The upper age limit is 32 years on 1 January of the year in which applications are invited. For the 2023 cycle, the reference date was 1 January 2023. The notification will give the exact date-of-birth window for the cycle, so calculate your age on the reference date and not on the exam day.
Category | Relaxation in the 2023 notice | Resulting upper age (calculated) |
|---|---|---|
General | None | 32 years |
SC and ST | 5 years | 37 years |
General persons with benchmark disabilities | Up to 10 years | 42 years |
SC and ST persons with benchmark disabilities | Up to 15 years | 47 years |
Ex-servicemen and commissioned officers (including emergency and short service) | Up to 5 years, with conditions on service and release | 37 years |
The 2023 notice listed no separate age relaxation for OBC or EWS candidates, and its vacancy table named only General, SC and ST. Check this again in every new notice. Persons with benchmark disabilities means an identified disability of 40% or more.
Bar practice requirement and Supreme Court rulings
What the Delhi rules and the 2023 notice said
The Delhi Judicial Service Rules ask for a practising advocate or a person qualified to be admitted as an advocate. The 2023 advertisement did not mention a minimum number of years of practice. That is why fresh law graduates could apply in that cycle.
What the Supreme Court has changed
Two Supreme Court decisions now shape Civil Judge (Junior Division) recruitment across the country. Both are reported from secondary sources, and the High Court notification will say how Delhi applies them.
20 May 2025: In All India Judges Association v. Union of India, the Court restored a minimum of three years of practice at the Bar for entry into the civil judge cadre, for recruitment processes begun after that date.
21 August 2026: In Bhumika Trust v. Union of India, a three-judge bench modified that position by a 2 to 1 majority.
As reported, the modified arrangement works in two windows.
Notification issued | Practice position as reported |
|---|---|
From 20 May 2025 to 31 March 2027 | Candidates may apply without prior practice. Selected candidates join as trainee judicial officers and complete a year at the State Judicial Academy and a further period of clerkship before regular appointment. |
On or after 1 April 2027 | At least one year of practice at the Bar, supported by a certificate of practice, plus the same training and clerkship. |
The arrangement is reported to run for five years, after which the Court will review it. Details such as the length of clerkship, pay during training and the form of the practice certificate come from the judgment and the High Court's implementation, so read both when they are available.
Some coaching pages say Delhi already required three years of practice before 2025. The 2023 Delhi notice we reviewed does not show that, so follow the official notification and not a summary.
Other conditions
Medical fitness: Appointed candidates must be medically fit, and candidates with disabilities must be able to discharge judicial duties, as judged by a Medical Board.
Character and antecedents: The Selection Committee can examine character records, and appointment depends on verification.
Language: The Rules set no Hindi eligibility condition, but the mains language paper includes English to Hindi and Hindi to English translation in Devanagari script.
Marital status: Rule 19 contains a marital-status condition, which the Administrator can exempt on special grounds. Read the Rule if it may apply to you.
Joining: Selected candidates must join within one month of the appointment notification, with extensions only as the High Court allows.
Who is not eligible
Candidates who are not Indian citizens.
Candidates without a law degree and enrolment or eligibility for enrolment as an advocate.
Candidates above the age limit on the reference date, after counting the category relaxation they are entitled to.
Candidates who do not meet the practice condition in the notice that applies to the cycle.
Candidates who give false information or fail verification. Candidature can be cancelled without notice, even after an exam.
Quick self-check with examples
Use these examples to test your own position against the 2023 rules. They are illustrations, and the next notification will set the real dates.
Candidate | Position under the 2023 rules |
|---|---|
General candidate, aged 30 on the reference date, enrolled advocate | Within the age limit and a practising advocate, so eligible on these two points |
General candidate, aged 34 on the reference date | Above 32 with no relaxation, so not eligible |
SC candidate, aged 35 on the reference date | Within the 37-year limit after five years of relaxation, so eligible on age |
Fresh law graduate, aged 24, not yet enrolled | Qualified to be admitted as an advocate, so eligible in 2023; check the practice rule in the next notice |
General candidate with a benchmark disability, aged 40 | Within the 42-year limit with ten years of relaxation, subject to the certificate and medical conditions |
DJS and DHJS eligibility are different
Pages that mix the two exams create confusion about age and experience.
Condition | Delhi Judicial Service (DJS) | Delhi Higher Judicial Service (DHJS) |
|---|---|---|
Level | Entry-level judicial officer | District judge |
Age | Not more than 32 on 1 January (2023 notice) | At least 35 and under 45 on 15 July 2026 (2026 notice) |
Experience | No minimum stated in 2023; Supreme Court rules apply to later notices | Seven years of practice or service as set out in the 2026 notice |
Fee, documents and provisional eligibility
Eligibility is provisional at every stage. For the 2023 cycle, the application fee was Rs. 1,500 for General candidates and Rs. 400 for SC, ST and persons with benchmark disabilities, payable online.
Keep these documents ready before you start the form:
Identity and age: Date-of-birth proof such as the Class 10 certificate.
Qualification: Law degree or provisional certificate and mark sheets.
Enrolment: State Bar Council enrolment proof, if you are enrolled.
Category and disability: Caste, disability or ex-servicemen certificates in the format the notice asks for.
Photograph and signature: Scanned in the size and format given in the instructions.
Official sources
Check the official notice and instructions on the Delhi High Court website: https://delhihighcourt.nic.in/. Recruitment notices are listed at https://delhihighcourt.nic.in/web/recruitment.
Frequently Asked Questions
Ready to practice? Explore Delhi Judicial Services mock tests from top educators.
Browse Delhi Judicial Services Mock Tests