Banking Exams

SBI SO

SBI SO is a recruitment exam for the recruitment of Specialist Officers, relevant to candidates preparing for public and private sector banking careers.

SBI SO is the common name for the Specialist Cadre Officer (SCO) recruitment run by State Bank of India through its Central Recruitment and Promotion Department in Mumbai. Unlike the Probationary Officer exam, SBI SO is not one exam with one notification. SBI publishes a series of advertisements through the year, each for specific specialist posts such as Deputy Manager (AI Specialist), Assistant Manager (Law), Bank Medical Officer or Investment Specialist.

This page explains how the 2026-27 SBI SO cycle works, which advertisements are open or closed as on 21 October 2026, and how selection differs from post to post. Most advertisements this cycle select candidates through shortlisting and an interview only, while a few, such as the Law and Medical Officer posts, include an online written test. Always read the advertisement for the post you want, because eligibility, selection and pay are decided post by post.

Table of Contents

  • SBI SO 2026 at a glance

  • How SBI SO recruitment works

  • 2026-27 advertisements and vacancies

  • Important dates

  • Eligibility

  • Application fee and how to apply

  • Selection process and exam pattern

  • Syllabus summary

  • Salary and career growth

  • How to prepare for SBI SO

  • Cut-off reference

SBI SO 2026 at a glance

Particular

Details

Conducting body

State Bank of India, Central Recruitment and Promotion Department, Mumbai

Recruitment name

Specialist Cadre Officers (SCO), advertisement series CRPD/SCO/2026-27

Type of engagement

Regular posts and contract or fixed-term posts, depending on the advertisement

Vacancies

Different for every advertisement, and provisional. SBI can change them.

Selection

Shortlisting and interview for most posts. Online written test plus interview for some posts, for example Law and Bank Medical Officer.

Interview marks

100 marks in the advertisements we checked

Application fee

Rs. 750 for General, EWS and OBC. Nil for SC, ST and PwBD.

Application mode

Online only, through the SBI careers page

Official website

sbi.bank.in/web/careers/current-openings

How SBI SO recruitment works

Each advertisement carries its own number, for example CRPD/SCO/2026-27/02, and its own posts, age limit, experience requirement, fee window and selection steps. A candidate usually applies for one post in one advertisement. If you submit more than one application under the same advertisement, SBI keeps the last valid one and the other fees are forfeited, although at least one wealth management advertisement allows applying to more than one post.

This structure has three practical effects for an aspirant:

  • There is no single syllabus or pattern. The written test exists only in some advertisements, and its sections change with the post.

  • Work experience matters more than marks. Most posts ask for several years of post-qualification experience, and shortlisting is based on it.

  • New advertisements can appear at any time. Keep watching the careers page instead of waiting for one annual notification.

2026-27 advertisements and vacancies

The table below lists advertisements from the official SBI careers page that were open, recently closed or at the result stage as on 21 October 2026. It is a selection, not the full list, and vacancies are provisional.

Advertisement

Posts

Vacancies

Selection

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/02

Assistant Manager (Law), Deputy Manager (Law)

49 (20 and 29)

Online test, then interview

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/03

Bank Medical Officer (BMO-II)

35

Online test, interview, local language test

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/11

Deputy Manager (AI Specialists, IT Security Expert, Cyber Security Analyst) and three DVP posts

34

Shortlisting and interview

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/15

Trade Finance Officer, IBG (JMGS-I and MMGS-II)

35 (14 and 21)

Shortlisting and interview

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/23

Wealth Management posts: Zonal Head, Regional Head, RM-Team Lead, Investment Specialist, Investment Officer, VP Wealth, AVP Wealth

207

Shortlisting and interview

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/22

DVP and AVP (IT Risk)

2 each, per the vacancy table

Shortlisting, interview, CTC negotiation

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/24 and /25

Marketing and content posts; Wealth Management and Premier Banking support posts

A few posts each. Check the PDFs, as some table rows are unclear.

Shortlisting, interview, CTC negotiation

CRPD/SCO/2026-27/30

GM and Chief AI Officer, three DGM posts, AI Solution Architect, Enterprise AI Architect

6

Shortlisting, interview with presentation, CTC negotiation

The Wealth Management advertisement is the largest of the cycle. Its vacancies by post are Zonal Head (Retail) 1, Regional Head 5, Relationship Manager-Team Lead 24, Investment Specialist 9, Investment Officer 4, VP Wealth 91 and AVP Wealth 73. Some third-party pages show a different total, so rely on the official advertisement. The category-wise split in that PDF is hard to read, so check it there before you plan around a reservation category.

Important dates

Event

Date

Law and Medical Officer advertisements (/02 and /03): registration

24 June 2026 to 14 July 2026

Law (/02): online written test

23 August 2026

Law (/02): shortlist for interview published

12 October 2026

Wealth Management (/23): registration

4 September 2026 to 25 September 2026, shown as extended on the careers page

Trade Finance Officer (/15): registration

29 August 2026 to 19 September 2026, shown as extended to 28 September 2026

Marketing and Wealth support posts (/24 and /25): registration

30 September 2026 to 21 October 2026

AI leadership and architect posts (/30): registration

19 October 2026 to 9 November 2026

Dates can be extended or changed. Track the official careers page on sbi.bank.in and your registered email, because call letters for these recruitments are sent by email. Interview dates for most advertisements were not announced when this page was written.

Eligibility

Educational qualification

The qualification depends on the post. Law posts need a law degree and enrolment as an advocate. Medical Officer posts need an MBBS recognised by the NMC or a State Medical Council. Deputy Manager technology posts need a BE or BTech in a computing or electronics field, an MCA, or an MTech or MSc in a relevant discipline, usually with at least 50 percent marks. Wealth Management posts ask for graduation, while Investment Specialist and Investment Officer posts need a finance-related PG degree or diploma, or CA or CFA.

Age limit and experience

The age limit is stated for an as-on date in each advertisement, for example 31 May 2026 for Law and Medical Officer posts and 31 August 2026 for Wealth Management posts. Ranges differ widely, from 21 to 30 years for a junior grade post to 40 to 55 years for senior leadership posts. Experience is counted after the required qualification, and teaching and training experience is not counted.

Category

Upper age relaxation (where the advertisement allows it)

OBC (non-creamy layer)

3 years

SC and ST

5 years

PwBD (General and EWS)

10 years

PwBD (OBC)

13 years

PwBD (SC and ST)

15 years

Relaxations are not added together. Some contract advertisements say only that relaxation follows Government of India rules. For the full post-wise rules, see our SBI SO eligibility guide.

Application fee and how to apply

Category

Fee

General, EWS and OBC

Rs. 750, non-refundable. Payment gateway charges, if any, are paid by the candidate.

SC, ST and PwBD

Nil

  1. Choose the advertisement: Open the current openings page on the SBI careers website and download the English PDF for your post.

  2. Check eligibility: Match your degree, experience and age to the as-on date in that advertisement.

  3. Register and fill the form: Apply online only. Hard copies are not accepted. Details such as age and category cannot be changed after submission.

  4. Upload documents: Keep a photo, signature, resume, ID and date-of-birth proof, certificates and experience letters ready.

  5. Pay the fee and submit: Registration is complete only after the fee is paid, where a fee applies.

Document

Specification (as in the advertisements we checked)

Photograph

JPG, about 20 to 50 KB

Signature

JPG, about 10 to 20 KB, not in capital letters

Certificates, resume, ID proof

PDF on A4, up to about 500 KB each

Specifications can differ by advertisement. Common reasons for rejection are an experience certificate that does not state duties and dates, claiming teaching or training experience, and applying under the wrong category without a valid certificate.

Selection process and exam pattern

Selection depends on the post. Most advertisements follow this route: shortlisting by the bank, an interview of 100 marks, CTC negotiation for contract posts, and a merit list based only on interview marks. Meeting the minimum criteria does not guarantee an interview call.

Law and Bank Medical Officer posts add an online written test. For the Law posts, the objective test has Test of Reasoning (25 questions), English Language (35 questions) and Professional Knowledge (50 questions). Reasoning and English are qualifying, and only Professional Knowledge counts for merit. A descriptive test of 50 marks follows, where you answer any 5 of 8 questions in 45 minutes. Final merit gives 70 percent to the written test and 30 percent to the interview.

What this means for you:

  • Check the stage list first: If your advertisement has no written test, your preparation is the profile, the resume and the interview, not a syllabus.

  • Treat qualifying papers seriously: A strong Professional Knowledge score will not help if you miss the qualifying marks in Reasoning or English.

  • Expect a presentation for some senior posts: A few advertisements ask for a short presentation at the interview.

Older pages may still show a single written exam for every SBI SO post, so follow the advertisement for your post. The detailed stage tables are on our SBI SO exam pattern page.

Syllabus summary

SBI does not publish a topic-wise syllabus for these tests. It names the papers, such as Professional Knowledge, and leaves the topics to the post. The table is a working summary built from the advertisements and the nature of each role, not an official list.

Post group

Stage

Areas to cover

Law posts

Written test

Reasoning, English, banking and general law, civil and criminal procedure, contract and evidence, descriptive drafting

Bank Medical Officer

Written test

Reasoning, quantitative aptitude, English, general medicine and public health topics

Technology and cyber posts

Interview

Role-specific skills such as AI and ML, security, risk and architecture, plus your project experience

Wealth Management and marketing posts

Interview

Products, sales and relationship management, market knowledge, your track record

For a fuller checklist, read the SBI SO syllabus guide.

Salary and career growth

Regular posts follow SBI pay scales. Contract posts offer an annual CTC that is negotiable, shown as an upper range in the advertisement.

Post type

Pay as stated in the advertisement

Assistant Manager (JMGS-I)

Basic Rs. 48,480 to Rs. 85,920 on the scale

Deputy Manager (MMGS-II)

Basic Rs. 64,820 to Rs. 93,960 on the scale

Manager (MMGS-III)

Basic Rs. 85,920 to Rs. 1,05,280 on the scale

Wealth Management contract posts

Upper CTC from Rs. 27.10 lakh (Investment Officer) to Rs. 97 lakh (Zonal Head)

AI leadership contract posts

Upper CTC from Rs. 90 lakh to Rs. 160 lakh

Regular officers also receive DA, HRA, CCA, provident fund, NPS, LFC and medical facilities as per bank rules. These are official scale figures. We have not estimated in-hand salary, which varies by city. Contract posts run for fixed terms, usually three to five years, with renewal at the bank's discretion.

How to prepare for SBI SO

Start with your advertisement, then prepare for the stages it lists.

  • For a written-test post: Spend the first weeks on Professional Knowledge, add reasoning and English for the qualifying papers, and practise the descriptive paper by writing within the time limit.

  • For an interview-only post: Prepare a crisp account of your roles, numbers and projects, revise the core concepts of your domain, and practise explaining decisions aloud.

  • For every post: Prepare your documents early, especially experience letters that state duties, dates and level.

Cut-off reference

SBI did not state cut-off marks in the 2026 shortlist notices for the Law posts. It names the candidates provisionally shortlisted for interview and does not give category-wise marks. The qualifying marks for tests and the interview are decided by the bank and are not disclosed in the advertisements. Cut-offs change every year with difficulty, vacancies and the number of applicants, so treat any figure you see elsewhere as an estimate. Read our SBI SO cut-off page for how to set a safe target.

Frequently Asked Questions