Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant
Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant is a recruitment exam for assistant-cadre recruitment, relevant to candidates preparing for recruitment at public sector undertakings and central institutions.
The Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant (JCA) exam is the recruitment test the Supreme Court of India uses to fill Group B (non-gazetted) Junior Court Assistant posts in its Registry in New Delhi. The Registry released the detailed advertisement for the 2026 cycle on 30 September 2026, with online applications open from 7 October to 28 October 2026.
This page brings the whole cycle together: key dates, vacancies, eligibility, fees, the four-stage selection process, the syllabus, salary and a practical preparation plan. The 2026 pattern is different from the one used in the 2025 cycle, so check the pattern section carefully if you prepared earlier or are reading older guides.
Supreme Court JCA 2026
Particular | Details |
|---|---|
Conducting body | Supreme Court of India (Recruitment Cell, Registry) |
Post | Junior Court Assistant, Group B (non-gazetted) |
Advertisement | No. F.6/2026-SC (RC), dated 30 September 2026 |
Vacancies | 250 (tentative, can be increased or decreased by the Registry) |
Qualification | Bachelor's degree, computer knowledge, English typing at 35 words per minute |
Age limit | 18 to 30 years as on 1 September 2026, with relaxations |
Selection stages | Objective test, typing speed test, descriptive test, interview |
Pay | Level 6 of the Pay Matrix, initial basic pay Rs. 35,400 |
Official website | sci.gov.in |
Supreme Court JCA Notification 2026
The Supreme Court published the detailed advertisement for Junior Court Assistant recruitment on its recruitment page on 30 September 2026, followed by a notice on 1 October 2026 and the application link notice on 6 October 2026. You can read the official advertisement on the Supreme Court of India recruitment page.
The biggest change this cycle is the exam pattern. The objective test now has 100 questions in 1 hour 30 minutes and adds three law-related sections: judiciary provisions of the Constitution, the Supreme Court Rules, 2013 and the Supreme Court Officers and Servants (Conditions of Service and Conduct) Rules, 1961. The application fee has also gone up compared with 2025.
Supreme Court JCA 2026 Important Dates
Event | Date |
|---|---|
Detailed advertisement released | 30 September 2026 |
Online application opens | 7 October 2026, 10:00 AM |
Last date to apply and pay fee | 28 October 2026, 11:55 PM |
Objective type test | 20 November 2026 (tentative) |
Provisional answer key and objections | From 22 November 2026 (tentative) |
Typing test, descriptive test, interview | To be notified on sci.gov.in |
Tentative dates come from the advertisement schedule and can change. Track the recruitment page on sci.gov.in and your registered email and mobile number for admit cards and stage notices.
Supreme Court JCA Vacancy 2026
The 2026 advertisement lists 250 tentative vacancies. The Registry can increase or decrease this number for administrative reasons, so treat it as indicative until the final select list is out.
Cycle | Vacancies | Category-wise break-up |
|---|---|---|
2026 | 250 (tentative) | Not reported in the advertisement summary |
2025 | 241 | Final select list: UR 187, SC 36, ST 18 |
Supreme Court JCA Eligibility 2026
Educational qualification
Degree: A Bachelor's degree from a recognised university in India, in any discipline.
Computer knowledge: Working knowledge of computer operation.
Typing: English typing speed of at least 35 words per minute on a computer.
Age limit
You must be between 18 and 30 years of age as on 1 September 2026. Relaxations apply as below.
Category | Upper age relaxation |
|---|---|
SC, ST, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), persons with disabilities, ex-servicemen | As per Government of India rules |
Dependants of freedom fighters | Up to 5 years |
Departmental candidates of the Supreme Court Registry | No upper age limit |
Employees of other government departments, PSUs or banks | No age relaxation |
Other conditions
Candidates must be Indian citizens. Your name and date of birth must match your Class 10 certificate. See the full Supreme Court JCA eligibility guide for the details.
Application Fee and How to Apply
Category | Fee (plus bank charges) |
|---|---|
General / Unreserved | Rs. 1,500 |
SC, ST, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), ex-servicemen, persons with disabilities | Rs. 750 |
The fee is paid online through the UCO Bank payment gateway and is not refundable. In 2025 the fees were Rs. 1,000 and Rs. 250, and OBC candidates paid the general fee, so older pages may show different figures.
Open the official notice: Go to the recruitment page on sci.gov.in and open the application link notice for Junior Court Assistant 2026.
Register: Enter your name, date of birth, category, email and mobile number exactly as on your certificates.
Fill the form: Add educational details and choose your exam city.
Upload documents: Upload your photograph and signature in the format the portal asks for.
Pay the fee: Pay online before 28 October 2026, 11:55 PM.
Save the confirmation: Keep a printout and your application number for admit card downloads.
Common reasons for rejection in past cycles include paying the reduced fee without being eligible for it, mismatched name or date of birth and incomplete uploads. Once submitted, the application cannot be edited, and if you submit more than one, only the last is considered.
Supreme Court JCA Exam Pattern 2026
Objective type test
Section | Questions | Marks |
|---|---|---|
General English including comprehension | 20 | 20 |
General Aptitude | 15 | 15 |
General Knowledge | 15 | 15 |
Provisions relating to the Judiciary in the Constitution of India | 15 | 15 |
Supreme Court Rules, 2013 | 10 | 10 |
Supreme Court Officers and Servants (Conditions of Service and Conduct) Rules, 1961 | 10 | 10 |
Computer Knowledge | 15 | 15 |
Total (1 hour 30 minutes) | 100 | 100 |
The qualifying mark is 50 out of 100, and 0.25 marks are deducted for each wrong answer.
Later stages
Stage | Details | Marks | Qualifying | Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Typing speed test | English, 35 wpm, mistakes up to 3% allowed | 50 | 25 | 10 minutes |
Descriptive test | English comprehension, precis, essay | 100 | 50 | 2 hours |
Interview | Personal interview | 25 | 13 | Not specified |
What this means for you:
Law sections carry 35 marks: The Constitution and the two rule books are a third of the objective test, and most general aspirants have not studied them before.
Typing decides the descriptive paper: Your descriptive answer sheet is evaluated only if you qualify the typing test.
Accuracy matters: At 0.25 per wrong answer, four wrong guesses wipe out one correct answer.
Older pages may still show the 2025 pattern, a 100-question, 2-hour objective written test plus a separate 25-question computer knowledge test with no law sections, so follow the 2026 advertisement. Read the full Supreme Court JCA exam pattern for marking and strategy.
Supreme Court JCA Syllabus Summary
Subject | Stage | Important topics |
|---|---|---|
General English | Objective, descriptive | Comprehension, grammar, vocabulary, precis, essay |
General Aptitude | Objective | Arithmetic, number series, reasoning, data interpretation |
General Knowledge | Objective | Current affairs, polity, history, geography, economy |
Constitution (judiciary) | Objective | Supreme Court, High Courts, subordinate courts, writs |
Supreme Court Rules, 2013 | Objective | Registry, filing, Advocates-on-Record, petitions, review |
Service and Conduct Rules, 1961 | Objective | Recruitment, probation, conduct, leave, penalties |
Computer Knowledge | Objective, typing | Basics, MS Office, internet, email, shortcuts |
The advertisement names the subjects but not a full topic list, so the topics above are a working checklist built from the subjects and past papers. The detailed Supreme Court JCA syllabus breaks each section down.
Selection Process
Objective type test: 100 marks; you need at least 50. If many candidates qualify, the next stage can be limited to about 10 times the vacancies on merit.
Typing speed test: 50 marks; qualifying mark 25. It is mandatory.
Descriptive test: 100 marks; qualifying mark 50. Evaluated only for candidates who qualify the typing test.
Interview: 25 marks; qualifying mark 13. Candidates are called in a ratio of about 1:3 against vacancies.
The four stages carry 275 marks in all. Check the advertisement for exactly how marks are combined into the final merit list, since this page does not assume a formula.
Supreme Court JCA Salary
Component | Details |
|---|---|
Pay level | Level 6 of the Pay Matrix (7th CPC) |
Initial basic pay | Rs. 35,400 per month |
Approximate gross (2025 advertisement) | Rs. 72,040 per month including HRA and allowances |
The gross figure is the one the Registry quoted in February 2025. It changes with dearness allowance revisions, so treat it as indicative. In-hand pay will be lower after deductions such as NPS contribution and income tax.
How to Prepare for the Supreme Court JCA Exam
Start with the law sections: Read the judiciary chapters of the Constitution and both rule books in their original text. These 35 marks are where many candidates lose ground.
Build English daily: English carries 20 objective marks and the whole descriptive paper. Read an editorial a day and write one precis a week.
Type every day: Practise 15 to 20 minutes daily on a computer keyboard until you hold 40 wpm or more with under 3% errors.
Keep GK current: Make monthly current affairs notes, with extra focus on legal and judicial news.
Move to timed mocks: In the last four to six weeks, take full-length mocks in the 100-question, 90-minute format and review every wrong answer.
For timed practice in the current pattern, you can attempt Supreme Court JCA online tests on Testkart and use the section-wise analysis to see where your marks are slipping. Pair them with previous year papers to understand the real difficulty level.
Supreme Court JCA Cut-off Reference
Stage (2025 cycle) | Cut-off used |
|---|---|
Typing speed test (out of 50) | 43.18 marks or more |
Descriptive test (out of 100) | 55 marks or more (1:3 ratio for interview) |
Cut-offs change every year with difficulty, vacancies and the number of applicants. Treat these figures as a benchmark only, and aim for a clear margin above them. More detail is on the Supreme Court JCA cut-off page.