Union Bank of India PO
Union Bank of India PO is a recruitment exam for the recruitment of Probationary Officers, relevant to candidates preparing for public and private sector banking careers.
The Union Bank of India PO exam is the route to a Probationary Officer (Scale I) post at Union Bank of India, one of the larger public sector banks. Union Bank does not run a separate written test for this post. It recruits POs through the Common Recruitment Process (CRP) of the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS), and candidates choose it as one of their preferred banks while applying for the IBPS PO/MT exam.
In the current 2026 cycle (CRP PO/MT-XVI), Union Bank of India is listed among the participating banks. This page explains how the process works, the dates reported so far, eligibility, the exam pattern, selection stages, pay and how to prepare. Use it as a starting point and confirm every date and figure on the official IBPS notification.
Table of Contents
How Union Bank PO recruitment works
Union Bank PO 2026 at a glance
Important dates
Vacancies
Eligibility
Application fee
Exam pattern
Syllabus summary
Selection process
Salary and career growth
How to prepare
Previous cut-off reference
How Union Bank PO recruitment works
A candidate does not apply to Union Bank directly for the PO post. You register once on the IBPS portal for the PO/MT exam, appear in the common Prelims and Mains, and take part in the interview round. After the final result, IBPS provisionally allots successful candidates to participating banks based on merit, category and the bank preferences you filled in.
Union Bank of India's own notices confirm this route. Its published lists of Probationary Officers with reporting offices refer to candidates allotted under IBPS CRP cycles, and the bank takes over only after allotment, for document verification, medical examination and induction training.
We looked for a separate Union Bank PO notification and for a Post Graduate Diploma in Banking and Finance (PGDBF) route linked to Union Bank PO in this cycle and found none. Some banks have used such diploma-based routes in the past, but the 2026 Union Bank PO intake is reported through the IBPS common process. If the bank announces any other route, the official careers page is where it will appear.
Union Bank also runs its own direct recruitments for other posts, such as Assistant Manager (specialist officer) and apprentices. Those are different from the PO post and follow their own notifications.
Union Bank PO 2026 at a glance
Particular | Details |
|---|---|
Post | Probationary Officer (Scale I) |
Bank | Union Bank of India |
Recruitment route | IBPS Common Recruitment Process, CRP PO/MT-XVI |
Vacancies for Union Bank | Not reported in the vacancy tables seen so far (indicative; may be added later) |
Qualification | Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university |
Age limit | 20 to 30 years as on 1 July 2026, with relaxations |
Stages | Prelims, Mains, Personality Test and Interview |
Official websites | ibps.in and unionbankofindia.bank.in |
Important dates
Event | Date |
|---|---|
Notification and online registration start | 1 July 2026 |
Registration and fee payment close | July 2026 (reports give 21 July and 26 July; check the notification) |
Application edit window | 29 and 30 July 2026 (reported) |
Prelims exam | 22 and 23 August 2026 |
Prelims result | 23 September 2026 (reported) |
Mains exam | 4 October 2026 (scheduled) |
Mains result | November 2026 (tentative) |
Personality Test | November 2026 (tentative) |
Interview | November or December 2026 (tentative) |
Final result and provisional allotment | January 2027 (tentative) |
Tentative dates come from the notification schedule and can change. Track the official IBPS website and your registered email for the latest update. As of 21 October 2026, the Prelims is over and the Mains result is awaited, so candidates who qualified should now focus on Mains revision and interview preparation.
Vacancies
IBPS has reported more than 6,700 vacancies across the participating banks for this cycle, and later reports mention a revised higher total after a bank added posts. These figures are indicative. Union Bank of India's vacancy count was shown as not reported in the tables we could find, so do not treat any Union Bank figure on unofficial sites as final.
Vacancy numbers decide how many candidates each bank can take, and they affect final cut-offs. Check the IBPS vacancy notice and the bank's own announcements again before the final result stage.
Eligibility
Educational qualification
You need a degree in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India or an equivalent qualification. The final result must be declared on or before the date given in the notification (reported as 21 July 2026 for this cycle). No minimum percentage is reported for the degree.
Age limit
The age limit is 20 to 30 years as on 1 July 2026, which means a date of birth between 2 July 1996 and 1 July 2006, both days included.
Category | Upper age relaxation |
|---|---|
SC / ST | 5 years |
OBC (non-creamy layer) | 3 years |
Persons with benchmark disabilities | 10 years |
Ex-servicemen and commissioned officers (with the required service) | 5 years |
Other conditions
Candidates must be Indian citizens, or belong to the other nationality categories listed in the notification. Read the full rules on the Union Bank PO eligibility page before you apply.
Application fee
Category | Fee (reported, inclusive of GST) |
|---|---|
General, OBC and EWS | Rs. 850 |
SC, ST and PwBD | Rs. 175 |
The fee is paid online and is not refundable. Candidates bear the bank transaction charges. Applications were made on the IBPS portal, where you also select your bank preferences.
Exam pattern
Prelims
The Prelims is an online qualifying test of 100 questions and 100 marks in 60 minutes, with 20 minutes for each section. Marks are not added to final merit, but you must clear both sectional and overall cut-offs.
Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 minutes |
Quantitative Aptitude | 35 | 30 | 20 minutes |
Reasoning Ability | 35 | 40 | 20 minutes |
Total | 100 | 100 | 60 minutes |
Mains
The Mains has an objective paper and a descriptive paper. The objective section pattern below is as reported for this cycle. Confirm it in the notification.
Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
Reasoning | 40 | 60 | 45 minutes |
General, Economy and Banking Awareness | 50 | 60 | 35 minutes |
English Language | 40 | 20 | 35 minutes |
Data Analysis and Interpretation | 40 | 60 | 45 minutes |
Descriptive (essay and comprehension) | 2 tasks | 25 | 30 minutes |
Each wrong answer in the objective tests costs 0.25 marks, and unattempted questions carry no penalty. What this means for you: Reasoning, Awareness and Data Analysis carry the most marks, so they decide most of your Mains score. Older pages may still show a 155-question objective paper with a combined reasoning and computer test, so follow the official notification. Full details are on the Union Bank PO exam pattern page.
Syllabus summary
IBPS names the tests but does not publish a topic-wise syllabus. The table below is a working checklist built from the notification and from topics asked in earlier years.
Subject | Stage | Important topics |
|---|---|---|
English Language | Prelims, Mains | Reading comprehension, cloze test, error spotting, para jumbles, vocabulary |
Quantitative Aptitude and Data Analysis | Prelims, Mains | Simplification, number series, data interpretation, arithmetic word problems |
Reasoning | Prelims, Mains | Puzzles, seating arrangement, syllogism, inequality, input-output, data sufficiency |
General, Economy and Banking Awareness | Mains | Current affairs, banking and financial awareness, RBI and government schemes |
Descriptive English | Mains | Essay writing, comprehension |
The detailed list is on the Union Bank PO syllabus page.
Selection process
Prelims: an online qualifying test with sectional and overall cut-offs.
Mains: objective and descriptive papers whose marks count towards final merit.
Personality Test: reported as qualifying and mandatory before the interview.
Interview: 100 marks, with a minimum of 40 percent (35 percent for SC, ST, OBC and PwBD candidates).
Final merit is reported as 80 percent Mains and 20 percent Interview. Allotment to Union Bank depends on your rank, category and bank preference.
Salary and career growth
The PO basic pay scale is Rs. 48,480 to Rs. 85,920, in stages (Rs. 48,480 - 2,000/7 - 62,480 - 2,340/2 - 67,160 - 2,680/7 - 85,920), plus allowances as per the bank's rules. Reports mention a probation period of two years. Take-home pay depends on the city category, so any in-hand figure you see online is an estimate and not an official number.
POs start in Scale I and move up through promotions in the officer cadre, subject to the bank's policy, performance and internal tests.
How to prepare
Prepare in phases rather than subject by subject. Spend the first weeks on basics in arithmetic, reasoning puzzles and English grammar. Add a daily current affairs habit with monthly notes, then move to sectional practice and full-length papers.
Prelims: speed and accuracy matter most because each section has its own timer. Practise 20-minute sectional sets.
Mains: build stamina for the longer paper and give regular time to banking awareness and descriptive writing.
Interview: prepare your profile, banking basics and current economic issues.
Previous cut-off reference
Cut-offs come from the common IBPS PO process and are not specific to Union Bank. Reported Prelims cut-offs for General candidates were about 49.21 out of 100 in 2025 and 48.50 in 2024. Cut-offs change every year with difficulty, vacancies and the number of applicants, so treat these numbers as a benchmark only and aim for a clear margin above them. The Union Bank PO cut-off page has more detail.
Read the official notification and updates on the IBPS website and the Union Bank of India careers page before you act on any date or figure.