IBPS PO 2026 Exam Overview & Study Resources
A common written examination for the recruitment of Probationary Officers in multiple public sector banks.
IBPS PO Study Material
Mock Tests
View allEnglish Language Full Mock Test for Competitive Exams

Free
IBPS PO Banking Awareness Test Series 2026

Free
SBI PO English Mock Test Series - 20 Prelims Sectional Mocks with Solutions (Latest Pattern)

₹650₹499
English Grammar & Vocabulary Mock Test Set 2
₹10
Logical Reasoning Practice Test 40 Questions

Free
IBPS Banking Concepts MCQs

₹5
IBPS PO 2026 is the sixteenth edition of the common recruitment exam for Probationary Officers and Management Trainees in public sector banks. The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) conducts it under the official name CRP PO/MT-XVI.
The Prelims were held on 22 and 23 August 2026, and the Mains is scheduled for 4 October 2026. This guide brings everything a student needs into one place: dates, vacancies, eligibility, the revised exam pattern, syllabus, salary, cut-offs and a preparation plan. Planning for the next cycle? The same framework applies.
IBPS PO 2026 at a Glance
Particular | Details |
|---|---|
Recruitment | CRP PO/MT-XVI, for vacancies of 2027-28 |
Vacancies | 7,565 (indicative, revised) |
Participating banks | 11 public sector banks |
Eligibility | Graduate in any discipline, 20 to 30 years as on 1 July 2026 |
Selection stages | Prelims, Mains, Personality Test, Interview |
Prelims | 22 and 23 August 2026 (conducted) |
Mains | 4 October 2026 |
Starting basic pay | Rs. 48,480 per month |
Official website |
IBPS PO 2026 Notification Overview
Parameter / Feature | Details & Operational Guidelines |
|---|---|
Notification Release Date | 1 July 2026 (Detailed notification released a day after short notice) |
Recruitment Vacancy Count | 7,565 Total Vacancies • Initial Count: 6,715 • 1st Revision: 7,365 • Final Revised Count: 7,565 (Increased as additional participating banks reported requirements) |
Revised Mains Exam Structure | 170 Objective Questions (Increased from 145 questions) • Total weightage remains unchanged at 200 Marks |
Newly Introduced Stage | Personality Test added between Mains and Interview (Self-report assessment shared directly with interview panel) |
Single Exam Process Rationale | Centralised Allotment System: • Single application and unified examination process (Prelims + Mains) • Provisional allotment to a specific bank based strictly on merit rank and bank preferences • Participating banks handle final offer letters, joining formalities, and posting directly |
IBPS PO 2026 Important Dates
Event | Date |
|---|---|
Detailed notification | 1 July 2026 |
Online registration and fee payment | 1 July to 26 July 2026 (extended from 21 July) |
Pre-examination training | August 2026 |
Preliminary exam | 22 and 23 August 2026 |
Prelims result | Expected in late September 2026 |
Main exam | 4 October 2026 |
Mains result | November 2026 (tentative) |
Personality Test | November or December 2026 (tentative) |
Interview | December 2026 or January 2027 (tentative) |
Provisional allotment | January or February 2027 (tentative) |
Tentative dates come from the notification schedule and can change. Track the CRP updates page on ibps.in and your registered email.
IBPS PO Vacancy 2026: Bank-wise Details
Bank of Baroda, Canara Bank and Bank of Maharashtra account for more than half of the posts. Union Bank of India had not reported its vacancies at the time of writing, so the total can still rise.
Participating bank | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bank of Baroda | 285 | 142 | 513 | 190 | 770 | 1,900 |
Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
Bank of Maharashtra | 165 | 82 | 297 | 110 | 446 | 1,100 |
Canara Bank | 225 | 112 | 405 | 150 | 608 | 1,500 |
Central Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
Indian Bank | 122 | 60 | 199 | 52 | 217 | 650 |
Indian Overseas Bank | 84 | 41 | 148 | 54 | 223 | 550 |
Punjab National Bank | 76 | 38 | 136 | 50 | 204 | 504 |
Punjab and Sind Bank | 24 | 13 | 47 | 15 | 62 | 161 |
UCO Bank | 30 | 15 | 54 | 20 | 81 | 200 |
Union Bank of India | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR |
Total | 1,161 | 577 | 2,069 | 741 | 3,017 | 7,565 |
NR means not reported. The figures are indicative, and final allotment depends on the actual vacancies banks report, so do not set bank preferences on these numbers alone.
IBPS PO Eligibility Criteria
Educational Qualification
You need a graduation degree in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India. The final result must be declared on or before 21 July 2026. If your university awards CGPA, convert it to a percentage using the university's own formula. IBPS ignores fractions, so 59.99% is treated as less than 60%.
Age Limit
The age limit is 20 to 30 years as on 1 July 2026. Your date of birth should fall between 2 July 1996 and 1 July 2006, both dates included.
Category | Upper age relaxation |
|---|---|
SC / ST | 5 years |
OBC (non-creamy layer) | 3 years |
Persons with Benchmark Disabilities | 10 years |
Ex-servicemen | 5 years |
Other Conditions
Nationality: Indian citizens. A few other categories listed in the notification, such as subjects of Nepal and Bhutan, need an eligibility certificate from the Government of India.
Credit history: Banks expect a healthy credit record at the time of joining. The minimum score depends on each bank's policy.
Attempts: There is no cap on attempts as long as you are within the age limit.
IBPS PO Application Fee and How to Apply
Category | Fee (inclusive of GST) |
|---|---|
SC / ST / PwBD | Rs. 175 |
General / OBC / EWS | Rs. 850 |
The fee is paid online and is not refunded. Registration for this cycle is closed, but the process changes little each year, so these steps will help with the next notification.
Register on ibps.in through the CRP PO/MT link. A provisional registration number and password reach you by SMS and email.
Upload documents: photograph, signature, left thumb impression, handwritten declaration and a live photograph taken through a webcam or phone.
Fill in the form and set your bank preference order. Check every field, because most details cannot be changed after final submission.
Pay the fee online, then save the e-receipt and a printout of the form.
Document | Dimensions | File size |
|---|---|---|
Photograph | 200 x 230 pixels | 20 to 50 KB |
Signature | 140 x 60 pixels | 10 to 20 KB |
Left thumb impression | 240 x 240 pixels | 20 to 50 KB |
Handwritten declaration | 800 x 400 pixels | 50 to 100 KB |
Write the signature and the declaration in running handwriting, not in capital letters. Forms are rejected for this reason every year.
IBPS PO Exam Pattern 2026
Both written stages are online with a separate timer for each section. All tests except English are bilingual.
Prelims Pattern
Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 minutes |
Quantitative Aptitude | 35 | 30 | 20 minutes |
Reasoning Ability | 35 | 40 | 20 minutes |
Total | 100 | 100 | 60 minutes |
You must clear the cut-off in each test and the overall cut-off to reach the Mains.
Mains Pattern
Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
Reasoning | 40 | 60 | 45 minutes |
General / Economy / Banking / Digital and Financial Awareness (including RBI circulars) | 50 | 60 | 35 minutes |
English Language | 40 | 20 | 35 minutes |
Data Analysis and Interpretation | 40 | 60 | 45 minutes |
Objective total | 170 | 200 | 160 minutes |
Descriptive paper (Essay and Comprehension) | 2 | 25 | 30 minutes |
For every wrong answer in the objective tests, one-fourth of the marks assigned to that question is deducted. Blank answers carry no penalty.
What the revised pattern means for you
Reasoning, Data Analysis and Awareness carry 60 marks each. Together they make up 180 of the 200 objective marks.
A question is worth about 1.5 marks in Reasoning and Data Analysis, 1.2 in Awareness and only 0.5 in English. A wrong guess in the first two costs three times as much as one in English.
The English objective test (20 marks) now carries less than the descriptive paper (25 marks). Sectional cut-offs still apply, so keep English in your routine, but give typing practice real time.
Older pages may still show the 145-question table, so follow the official notification. Our IBPS PO exam pattern guide explains each stage in detail.
IBPS PO Syllabus 2026
IBPS names the tests but does not issue a topic-wise syllabus. These topics are drawn from the test names and recent papers. See the IBPS PO syllabus guide for the full list.
Subject | Stage | Important topics |
|---|---|---|
Reasoning | Prelims and Mains | Puzzles, seating arrangement, syllogism, inequality, coding-decoding, blood relations, input-output, data sufficiency |
Quantitative Aptitude | Prelims | Simplification, approximation, number series, quadratic equations, arithmetic, data interpretation |
English Language | Prelims and Mains | Reading comprehension, cloze test, para jumbles, error spotting, fillers, vocabulary in context |
Data Analysis and Interpretation | Mains | Multi-step sets, caselets, data sufficiency, quantity comparison, arithmetic-based sets |
Awareness | Mains | Current affairs, banking and financial terms, RBI circulars, government schemes, budget and economy, digital banking |
Descriptive paper | Mains | Economic and social issues, trends in banking and technology, current events, ethics |
IBPS PO Selection Process
Preliminary exam: A qualifying screen. These marks are not added to the final merit.
Main exam: Objective test of 200 marks plus the descriptive paper of 25 marks.
Personality Test: A self-report assessment with no qualifying marks. Appearing for it is compulsory, and the profile goes to the interview panel.
Interview: 100 marks. The minimum qualifying score is 40% for General and EWS candidates and 35% for SC, ST, OBC and PwBD candidates.
Provisional allotment: Based on merit and your bank preferences.
The final merit combines Mains and interview scores in an 80:20 ratio.
IBPS PO Salary and Career Growth
The pay scale is Rs. 48,480-2000/7-62,480-2340/2-67,160-2680/7-85,920. In simple terms, the basic pay grows in three steps.
Stage | Starting basic | Annual increment | Duration | Basic at the end |
|---|---|---|---|---|
First | Rs. 48,480 | Rs. 2,000 | 7 years | Rs. 62,480 |
Second | Rs. 62,480 | Rs. 2,340 | 2 years | Rs. 67,160 |
Third | Rs. 67,160 | Rs. 2,680 | 7 years | Rs. 85,920 |
Dearness allowance, house rent allowance, medical benefits and other perks are added to the basic pay. Coaching portals commonly estimate the starting in-hand salary at Rs. 74,000 to Rs. 76,000 a month. This is not an official figure, and it varies by bank and city.
A PO starts in Scale I and can rise to Manager (Scale II), Senior Manager (Scale III) and Chief Manager. Beyond that lie the Assistant, Deputy and General Manager grades, reached through performance and internal promotion exams.
How to Prepare for IBPS PO
Stage 1: Clear the Prelims
With 20 minutes per section, attempt the easy questions first and leave the time-consuming ones.
Reasoning now carries 40 marks, so practise puzzles, seating arrangement and inequality daily.
Do not neglect English. Many candidates miss its sectional cut-off despite a good total.
Stage 2: Build Your Rank in the Mains
Data Analysis is multi-step and calculation-heavy. Start with the cleanest set and keep approximation methods ready.
Practise varied puzzle types and input-output questions so that no format surprises you.
Treat Awareness as a daily habit of 60 to 90 minutes. It offers 60 marks in 35 minutes with no calculations.
Stage 3: Respect the Descriptive Paper
Both tasks are typed, so practise on a keyboard with a 30-minute timer.
Spend the first two or three minutes on an outline, then write a short introduction, focused body paragraphs and a clear conclusion.
Keep the tone formal and balanced.
Use Mock Tests to Find Weak Areas
If you are writing the Mains on 4 October, take a full-length mock in the 170-question format every alternate day. Analyse it the same day: note the questions you got wrong, the ones that took too long, and the ones you skipped but could have solved.
For timed practice in the current pattern, you can attempt IBPS PO online tests on Testkart and use the section-wise analysis to plan your revision. Pair mocks with previous year papers to understand the real difficulty level.
IBPS PO Cut-off: Previous Cycle Reference
Cut-offs change every year with difficulty, vacancies and the number of applicants. Treat last year's Prelims figures as a benchmark only.
Category | IBPS PO Prelims 2025 cut-off (out of 100) |
|---|---|
General / OBC / EWS | 49.21 |
SC | 45.96 |
ST | 40.96 |
More vacancies can ease the cut-off, but more applicants can push it up. Aim for a clear margin above these marks, not a bare pass.